Welcome to SEARCA Knowledge Center on Climate Change Adaptation in Agriculture and Natural Resource Management in Southeast Asia (KC3)

50th ASEAN Anniversary Marked At Astana’s Expo 2017

Published on 9 August 2017 Malaysia

KUALA LUMPUR -- The 50th anniversary of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) was marked in Astana, Kazakhstan, on Tuesday at the Expo 2017.

Hosted by the ASEAN Committee in Astana (ACA), which was represented by Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia and Vietnam, the anniversary dinner welcomed 400 guests including foreign ambassadors and business industry leaders.

The Malaysian Green Technology Corporation (GreenTech Malaysia), the implementing agency for Malaysia Pavilion at the expo, in a statement, today said celebrating the anniversary in Astana could not have been more apt as the ongoing EXPO 2017 aims to address challenges of future energy and create global debate on the generation of more green energy to mitigate global warming.

According to GreenTech Malaysia, since ASEAN was founded in 1967, its record of development, poverty alleviation and conflict resolution is a true success story.

However the next 50 years will bring with it new challenges in a world marked by increasing independence, climate change and scarcity of resources, it said.

It also said that Malaysia, as an emerging market leader in green growth, is at the forefront of this debate as it showcases its commitment to pursue sustainable development via green technology and innovation at the Malaysia Pavilion.

“Its interactive content on renewable energy, sustainable growth and energy efficiency has been and continues to inspire green growth conversations throughout EXPO 2017 and the world at large,” it said.

Meanwhile during the event, Malaysia took the opportunity to showcase its cultural performance and costumes of the different ethnic groups in Malaysia as well as craft demonstrations on batik painting, embroidery beading and basket weaving, it added.

 ASEAN was established on Aug 8, 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by the Founding Fathers of ASEAN, namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand.

Brunei Darussalam then joined on Jan 7, 1984; Vietnam on July 28, 1995; Laos and Myanmar on July 23, 1997 and Cambodia on April 30, 1999, making up what is today the ten Member States of ASEAN.

Source: Malaysian Digest | 9 August 2017